Access to these databases was purchased for you by the Springfield-Greene County Library. A valid Library card is required to access these databases from outside the Library.
ABI/INFORM Dateline
Includes hard to find local and regional business news sources including information about city and county municipalities.
Art , Automotive , Community Matters , Science , Politics & Elections , Magazines
Academic OneFile
Millions of authoritative and comprehensive articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Updated daily.
Agriculture Collection
Access to 200 current, authoritative titles providing broad coverage of agriculture and related subjects.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices
A collection of obituaries and death notices from over 200 newspapers around the country.
Ancestry Library Edition
Census records and indexes, vital, church, military, and many other types of records.
(in library use only)
Auto Repair Reference Center
Find repair information for all types of vehicles from 1945 to present.
Biography Resource Center
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people throughout history and around the world.
Business & Company Resource Center
Provides company, industry and investment reports as well as hundreds of business periodical articles, market share data and company histories.
Business Decision
This database, reporting and mapping service combines extensive consumer household, market segmentation and demographic data with GIS mapping technology.
Business Economics and Theory
More than 450 full-text journals focusing on topics in economics. Includes regular feeds of videos from Forbes.com that contain business news coverage and interviews with CEO's.
Communications and Mass Media Collection
More than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics and literature.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Culinary Arts Collection
Access to major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information.
CultureGrams Kids Edition
Experience the cultures of over 190 countries that includes maps, statistics, recipes, and in-depth information. Also includes information on all 50 U.S. states.
Government , History & Biography
CultureGrams Online
Experience the cultures of over 190 countries that includes maps, statistics, recipes, and in-depth information. Also includes information on all 50 U.S. states.
Government , History & Biography , Science
Discovering Collection
A database for students that is comprised of biographies and essays that cover literature, history, biography, science and social studies.
Downloadable Audiobooks
Digital versions of audiobooks available through the Internet.
E-audiobooks
Browse and check out electronic audiobooks using a wide variety of mobile devices.
E-books
Browse and check out electronic books using a wide variety of mobile devices.
E-video
Browse and check out electronic videos using a wide variety of mobile devices.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
More than 150 full-text magazines and journals covering drama, music, art history and filmmaking.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
This grantseeking research tool from the Foundation Center includes over 90,000 grantmakers and 900,000 grants. Search over 380,000 form 990s from private foundations, community foundations and grantmaking public charities. Available in the Funding Information Center at the Library Center only.
(in library use only)
Gale Virtual Reference Library
GVRL is a collection of printed reference resources that you can search online. The collection covers business, science, history and social issues.
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
More than 100 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference sources from Delmar, Cengage Learning.
Art , Automotive , Community Matters , Science , Politics & Elections , Magazines
General OneFile
Millions of full-text news and periodical articles, many with images, on a wide range of topics. Updated daily.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Access to hundreds of carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes Alternative Health module.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.
HeritageQuest Online
A great resource for census data, family records, local histories and Revolutionary War pension records.
History Resource Center U.S.
Delivers full-text periodicals, newspapers, primary source documents, radio/television transcripts, and hundreds of resource material on US history from 1900 to the present.
History Resource Center World
Contains full-text periodicals, newspapers, primary source documents, radio/television transcripts,and hundreds of resource material on the history of the world.
Home Improvement Collection
More than 200 home-improvement focused titles covering such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection and zoning requirements.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
More than 800 journals and 29 subject specific Delmar, Cengage Learning reference titles and travel handbook's from Fodor's - provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism fields.
Informe
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Community Matters , Politics & Elections , Newspapers
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers
Millions of full-text articles from more than 1,000 newspapers from around the world. Selected articles from more than 300 additional sources of news and business information supplement the collection.
InfoTrac Junior Editon
With over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.
InfoTrac Student Edition
This periodical database provides high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
JobNow
Live tutors available to help with resume writing, job skill development and interview preparation. Available from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. daily.
Kids InfoBits
A developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content from the best elementary reference sources and magazines covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports.
Lawchek
A basic law information package designed as a day-to-day reference system for the average person. It includes a list of attorneys, federal directories and summaries of laws on popular topics such as divorce, bankruptcy and real estate for all 50 states.
LearningExpress Library
An online resource for academic and employment test preparation. Includes the GED, ACT, SAT, Postal Worker, and Civil Service tests. The site offers an instant score report with detailed answer explanations.
Business , Community Matters , Law , Politics & Elections
LexisNexis Library Express
Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Library Literature Full-Text
Search hundreds of library science journals, many with full-text.
Books & Authors , History & Biography
Literature Resource Center
A wealth of information that offers literary criticism, biographies, work overviews, periodical articles, web sites and more.
History & Biography , Newspapers
New York Times Historical
The full-image page by page for the New York Times covering the years 1851-2003.
History & Biography , Newspapers
New York Times Historical with Index
The New York Times full-image from 1851 to 1993 and the New York Times Index from 1851 to 2005.
Politics & Elections , Newspapers
Newspapers--Missouri Newspapers
Full-text for the Columbia Daily Tribune, Kansas City Star, Joplin Globe and St. Louis Post Dispatch.
Novelist
Use this database to help you find information on thousands of adult and childrens fiction titles. Locate series information, awards, genre lists, reviews and more!
Novelist K-8
Need help finding a good book to read? Novelist can help you locate books for grades K to 8.
PERSI from HeritageQuest
An index of over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles.
Popular Magazines
Full-text of 1,000 of the most searched magazines in the Infotrac databases.
Psychology Collection
Explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time.
Reference USA Business
This directory of nearly 14 million U.S. and Canadian businesses includes address, phone, contact person, sales and number of employees.
Reference USA Canadian Business
Search this database of 1.3 million Canadian businesses.
Reference USA Canadian Residential
Search this database of 12 million Canadian households.
Reference USA CorpTech
Search this database of 95,000 U.S. and Canadian technology related businesses.
Health & Wellness , Telephone & Addresses
Reference USA Health Care
Search this directory of 835,000 physicians and dentists in the United States.
Reference USA New Businesses
Find listings of the over 50,000 new businesses started in the United States each week.
Reference USA New Homeowners
Updated weekly, this database lists new homeowners across the United States.
Reference USA New Movers
With over 300,000 new movers each week, this database can help you locate movers by geography, moving distance and more.
Reference USA Residential
A directory of over 120 million US households with listed phone numbers. Information is available 8 to 12 weeks after it appears in phone company records.
Genealogy , History & Biography
Sanborn Maps
Large scale maps of U.S. cities and towns originally used by fire insurance companies. Covers maps made from 1867 to 1970.
Small Business Resource Center
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Genealogy , Missouri & Ozarks , Newspapers
Springfield News-Leader
Index and full-text of the last three years of the Springfield News-Leader.
Missouri & Ozarks , Newspapers
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Full-text covering January 1, 1988 to the present.
SummaryXchange.com
Read summaries of new business titles. Three new summaries are added each month.
Value Line
Access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities, as well as special situation stocks. Company news, extensive graphing, market updates, portfolio tracking with alerts and analyst supplements in
Community Matters , Politics & Elections , Newspapers
Wall Street Journal
(Eastern edition) Indexing and full-text articles from 1984 to the present. Excludes advertisements, digest of earnings table, dividends table, foreign currency exchange, futures prices and stock tables.
History & Biography , Newspapers
Wall Street Journal Historical
Full-image and page by page of the Wall Street Journal covering 1889 to 1989.
Westlaw Pro
Available ONLY at the Library Center and the Library Station. Includes MO cases and statutes, Court Rules, KeyCite, MO Law Reviews, MO Administrative Decisions, and MO federal including the 8th circuit court.
(in library use only)
Worldcat
Search for books and other materials owned by libraries worldwide.
ARTICLES & RESEARCH GUIDES
for Databases...

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Refine your search of this collection of digital reference books with the Advanced Search option.